top of page

Blog

Featured Posts

If I Could Do it All Again… Pt. 1

If I Could Do it All Again… Pt. 1

The full Article and part 2 on https://medium.com/@Blackbooked

I have done many creative shots, but back then I lacked skill to make the quality photos physically such as dealing with formatting,lighting and editing.

here are some photos that I edited recently but took long ago.

Starting out I did shoots with friends and very little resources. We leaned on how creative we can be with a very limited budget.

My very first shoot that I did was reminiscent of a refugee rebellion camp for photography. Devoted but vastly under-funded — passion though, was the rebellion against the dollar dictating what a person can and will do. I had a blue bed sheet and overhead lamp with aluminum around it to direct the light. Me my model and my D3000 took the first step from photojournalism to something that has more creative freedom.

This represent how dreams should never be explained how to make it to the dreamer. Part of my dream was I didn't and still don’t know where it will take me.

The shoot went well, but if I was told a few years later I would still be fighting for a way on that day I may have placed my camera down because on paper apart of the plan is to obtain paper. In life exploring art and to have documenation of the journey is the part where living happens where each person don’t live trying to make a living.

IF I could…

No regrets in how I did this, I would have just shot in raw instead of shooting in both. When it comes to the shoot, I did all I could and I couldn’t be disapointed.

Another clothing display with a black light special

This was a shoot that I showed that I am not going away. This location was a bit further away from the people I knew and I was only in town for a week. To get this done showed myself that I can do things under pressuer and have a little proactivness in my mindset.

I finally got a white background, 9x9-foot cotton muslin-like fabric. This was a big step up from the bed sheet and the black muslin that was mostly see-through and always wrinkled and only 5 feet wide and 6 feet tall.

If I could…

I shot this in jpeg because my laptop couldn't handle the RAW format. Later I would need to buy softwear, something I didn’t want to do. The jpeg gave me resolution problems and editing them really killed the quality, but the model saved me on this one. The black light shoots really made me wish for RAW formating.

Black Light Shoot in NOV

With this I didn't have much control over editing when it came to working with jpeg files. However, it came out so well aesthetically for me at the time that is was mostly overlooked.

This shoot I would actually do again, in fact I will so stay tuned. when it came to resources I had nearly enough to get the job done if money was not an obstacle.

The room was small enough and it looked as if the white background reflected so much of the black light that the room was well lit. it gave the background a nice ocean like wave, a kinda fountain of youth feel.

if I could…

I would had more concepts to this shoot. This is something that you could see happen again. this was in theory a concept shoot, look for me to push the envelope next time around, I dont want it to look like a duplicatd but a different shoot sticking to the same theme.

Part two coming soon


Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

Recent Posts

Search By Tags

No tags yet.

Follow Us

  • Facebook Basic
  • Twitter Basic
  • Google+ Basic

Located in the Chicago area and stationed in Blue Island for all of your photography needs

bottom of page